Copenhagen – whatawad of flavor!

At my school, we get one day off for Thanksgiving, the Friday after Thanksgiving but most students take a few more days off and make a vacation of it. My two friends and I decided to go to Copenhagen for four days. I had never been there and (not including Iceland) I hadn’t really been up to the north of Europe so I didn’t really have many expectations, except for knowing it was expensive. It turned out to be one of the coolest cities I have been to! Not only were all the Danes extremely friendly, the food scene was awesome! After some brief research on Wikipedia before the trip I was expecting lots of heavy, hearty dishes. They had this, but they also had a ton of more ethnic food such as Indian and Thai. And what really surprised me was the popularity of organic and local food in Copenhagen. I know that it’s a growing trend everywhere, but still – in cold, rainy Copenhagen? Green, fresh veggies? Walking (and biking) through the city the amount of bakeries, stores and restaurants (even an organic version of the famous pølsevogn). We even stumbled into a covered market place that resembled a modern version of Les Halles in Paris. 

Copenhagen exceeded my expectations in so many ways. It reminded me that organic and local is everywhere, maybe these food ideologies could one day revolutionize the world.

If you ever find yourself there make sure to get up to Nørreport while you’re there. It’s a little bit out of the city center, but hip and cool with lots of bars flowing with Carlsberg. There are also a lot of great restaurants up there. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Copenhagen – whatawad of flavor!

  1. I read this immediately after reading http://foodmattersincom310byhvb.tumblr.com/, where Hillary discussed the amount of Indian cuisine included in Scottish food culture. It’s interesting that you also noted ethnic Indian food; Indian is a cuisine that seems to have invaded national food cultures around the world. Hillary claims that for Scotland, this is due to the colonial ties with India, I wonder what it is for Denmark? For the US?

Leave a comment